rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

List of countries where freelancers/self-employed can live permanently

Hey all, I'm a freelancer and have spend quite a bit of time researching places where they allow freelancers to live long term on a visa or offer long term residency so I wanted to offer up what I know and perhaps it can help everyone.

I've mostly been looking around Europe since that's where I want to have a base and anchor down long term. For me, one big advantage about getting long term residency in EU countries is that you're much more free to move about the Schengen area, without worrying about the 90 days in and 90 days out rule. The drawback though is that in almost all these situations, the government will collect taxes from your income. But in inexpensive countries, it might not be much.

From what I know, Germany, Spain, France, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Netherlands are places that have a pathway to stay long term as an independent or remote worker. There's plenty of information on the Germany artist/freelance visa, because it's so dang popular, but little on the rest (I'd much live elsewhere than Germany imho). And the degree of difficulty and requirements differ depending on the conditions of the country.

So here are some links to :

Bulgaria (I heard it was pretty easy)

http://www.justlanded.com/english/Bulgar...nce-permit
http://www.lawbg.info/visas.html

Germany, Spain, Bulgaria

http://www.vagabondjourney.com/how-to-ge...cy-permit/

France, Germany

http://thesavvybackpacker.com/long-term-travel-europe/

Czech Republic (not hard, I heard)

http://www.expats.cz/prague/article/prag...e-licence/
http://www.wandertooth.com/zivnostensky-...ue-not-eu/
http://www.rooshvforum.network/thread-29000-...#pid556454

The Netherlands (a bit complicated it seems)