rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

TravelerKai’s Martial Arts Datasheet

My background: I hold black belts in the following styles: Kenpo, Japanese Ju Jitsu, Judo, and Brazilian JiuJitsu. I have over ten years of Traditional Muay Thai experience and training. I am a former Mixed Martial Arts fighter. I have trained and coached Amateur and Professional Mixed Martial Arts fighters for over 8 years. I have experience in Chinese Martial Arts (Wu Shu, animal systems, Sanda, San Shou). I have a red belt in Tae Kwon Do. I have had training in Eskrima and Arnis, Silat, and CQC (Close Quarter Combat). I have also trained enlisted military up to special forces members in knife fighting. I will not be describing my linages, associations, pro fighters, and students in detail to prevent getting doxed. I have other training in some other systems but if I reveal those, I can be doxed easily for that as well, so I will have to leave those out as well.

Purpose: To provide a resource and reference for RVF readers seeking advice and information on various Martial Arts. This Datasheet will provide a little bit of historical background, cover sport systems, self-defense systems, traditional martial arts, lineages when appropriate. The primary focus will be on widely accepted pros and cons of each along with my own personal insights on each. This datasheet will also help and assist those looking for a martial art for reasons besides self-defense and sports. It will have recommendations for general fitness and advice for older and aging men. Advice for women and children will also be present for any guys that have wives and/or children.

Format:
This guide will go by style, listed in alphabetical order.

Commonly used acronyms:
BJJ = Brazilian JiuJitsu
JJ = Japanese Ju Jitsu
WC = Wing Chun
MT = Muay Thai
MMA = Mixed Martial Arts