rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Al-Fresco Sidewalk Game

Al-Fresco Sidewalk Game

As promised, this is a write-up on a form of game I've been running for the past several months, with increasing success. It works well in warm-weather regions or, like now, during the summer months. Much of it is applicable across-the-board in day-game scenarios, but most pertinent in outside eating areas or cafe-seating right on the sidewalk. Though it resembles classic coffee-shop game, it's different in a variety of major ways.

Al-Fresco Sidewalk Game, Broken Down

1. Venue Selection.
Your first task, even before you start, is to find places in and around the neighborhood that meet the essential, general criteria. Logistics are everything. You want cool places that serve food and/or (non-alcoholic) drinks that have seating right on the sidewalk, on a street with good girl-traffic. Ideally, it won't be a place that's so crowded that people are invading your space or waiting for your table. You also don't want places where the eating area is barricaded from the sidewalk traffic. I tend to go with spots that aren't full-service restaurants for this reason. Non-chain, higher-end, semi-fast food type of places work best. If they have a tip jar in the front, you're probably hitting the right spot. Drop a buck or two while the guy is ringing you up and it will come back to you in the long run.

I know of a few places like this right in my neighborhood--which is ideal location-wise--so I make it a point not to burn-out any of them and start to get a reputation as a prowler. Places near your dwelling are worth their weight in gold, since you have the added dynamic of being able to pivot things to your man-cave (admittedly a rarer occurrence in day-game settings).

2. Determine a Location's Prime Days and Times.