rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Budapest Relocation Journal

Hello a newbie here. I'd like to first thank senior members for the wealth of information on this forum. It sure influenced my decision to move to Budapest on a long-term basis.

About Me:

6'3", 190 lbs, athletic build, Asian. 32 but look about 20 years old.

I was a standard blue-pill & liberal by-product of overpriced Ivy League education until I turned thankfully into an enlightened conservative about 4 years ago.

Professionally, I dived straight out of college "head-down, ass-up" into the monkey jungle of Wall Street investment banking thinking naively that it would solve all of life's problems and give me everything I wanted...I quit after not even 2 years and have worked independently as a Quant ever since (Applied Mathematician by training).

Now I am completely location-independent. Income wise, I am living comfortably for my standards which is not to say much since I am the frugal, spend-thrifty type.

The Plan:

Set up home-base in Budapest, integrate myself into the city, and enjoy all that Budapest has to offer while saving lots of cash given the low cost of living there.

For this, I got a 1-year Schengen visa as below through the Estonian Embassy. It could have been some other Schengen country but Estonia had a simple process.

[Image: 7SV09d2.jpg]

This can be renewed via other Schengen countries (For Canadians under 35, not sure about other nationalities). Hungary also has a permanent residency program for investors but that is something that I would consider after some time in the country.

Through the forum, I plan to share my experiences, live data, and learn from other members. RVF meetups in Budapest would be great as well. I've seen some recent threads with good pictures so I plan to share those too.