rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Hammer Strength Machine vs. Bench Press

What are your experiences with the two?

Now that I work out alone, with no spotter, I don't do bench presses anymore. My chest is built from dumbbell flys and the hammer strength machine: [Image: incline-chest-press-hammer-strength.jpg]

Its basically a sit-up incline press.

I have been working with it hard now for about 8 months and just maxed out today with two presses at 275.

With the bench press I was never able to press 235 more than once.

How much of a difference is the hammer when compared to the bench?

If you're lifting solo I recommend DB press. Not only can you do it without a spot but it's better for building a more even and stable chest and arms.

I normally bench back home when I'm with my gym partner but since I went to Europe I've been lifting solo. Chest days consist of a shit ton of DB work. Honestly can't remember the last time I used a barbell on chest day.

U​ of Roosh Class of 2420

I used the hammer machines a couple years ago and my chest got too big! My chest was disproportionally large , which is better than a concave chest, but it looked too out of whack with the rest of my body.

I like a balanced and proportional athletic look.

I do push ups for my chest now.

Take care of those titties for me.

I agree with Hans Dix. Dumbells really are the best for solo lifting.

As far as the hammer machine, I've used it in the past and it did seem slightly easier than the bench with the same weight.

Machines will always be inferior to free weights. This is evidenced by the fact that the machine weight is greater than your bench weight. There's a weakness your bench is exposing and this weakness is ignored by the assisted motion of the Hammer Strength machine.