rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Vancouver, Canada - Comprehensive Datasheet

Vancouver Datasheet

Intro

What up fellow RVF players? I’ve been meaning to write this post for a long time. I’ve been a long time RooshV reader / supporter since 2011. I’ve lurked on the forums for some time and have gotten a lot of value from previous datasheets which enhanced my trips abroad. It’s time to give back - a comprehensive data sheet on my home town, which is a first for the forums.

A little bit about myself: Asian, 5”6, late 20’s, good style, in shape, relatively well travelled, been in the game for the last 7 years with many memories and experiences. I am a working professional who grew up and live in this city, so I’d like to think that I know what I’m talking about ☺

Overview

Nestled in the Pacific coast of BC, Vancouver is one of the most international cities in Canada. It boasts a lot of natural beauty and draws a big tourist crowd between the months of March-September, when the sun is out. There are also some really scenic hikes nearby such as Joffre Lake and The Chief in the town of Squamish if you’re the outdoorsy type.

During the winter, there is also a lot to do, as the local mountains offer opportunities for skiing, snowboarding and plenty of ice rinks for skating and hockey. Whistler and Big White Resort are also a few hours drive away.

After hosting the Winter Olympics in 2010, the secret is out on this place. As such, there has been a huge influx of foreign capital into the city and the real estate market has taken off like a rocket ship. There is a lot of money in this town, but nobody seems to know where it comes from. They definitely didn’t make it here.