rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

How divorce works, datasheet.

I wanted to start a thread to share some of the knowledge which Ive gained about how marriage and divorce operates. I have a pretty good understanding of how the law operates in community property states, from work, but not so much of how things work in other states. Again, I am no expert on this stuff, but this is a general framework of how things work.

Before I get into the meat of it though, I want to bring something important up: "Co-habitating" with a woman, aka f***ing her and letting her live with you, may grant the woman some benefits of marital protection, even if you are not married. : There is a very famous case out there called Marvin - it basically says that if two people live together, and either person ever tells the other "don't worry about finances, you don't need to pay rent with me" that person has just created an oral contract with the person - as a result, if woman is "in the know", she can goto court after you guys break up and force you to pay her rent until she sorts her life out.

Now, moving on to actual marriage...

Community property states
There are two kinds of systems of marriage in the USA: Marriage in i) Community property states, and ii) common law states (non community property)

There are nine community property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin. (and according to wikip, Alaska, which provides the option to select community property division.

How your property is divided upon divorce