rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Golden Handcuffs

Golden Handcuffs

I’m facing an important dilemma. Without giving too much away, I work in Finance making low 6 figures. This position, on paper, is amazing -- solid company, excellent boss, 2 people reporting to me, and great benefits. Now my challenge is as follows:

- I’m getting really tired of the daily grind, however I need to be able to continue to build up the secondary (Real Estate) cash flow until I get to the point where I have enough $$s rolling in independent income. Right now I need the W-2s, income from job to have the security that I can continue to obtain conventional mortgages, have a war chest (down payments) for the property acquisitions, and funds set aside for emergencies.

- The problem with the job is that it’s 60 hours a week (easy). This doesn’t leave me with much more time to work on my RE acquisitions, particularly since I already spend 10 hours on property management for existing assets. I have a few options:

1. I can delegate my work to one of my direct reports (other one is a moron). However the issue with the more capable direct report is that he is typical finance douchebag, who wants to take all the glory, talk about all his accomplishments, and is generally described as a prick. I'm pretty sure that he is gunning for my position.

2. Keep grinding away at the day job while Real Estate hustling after work hours.

I feel pretty much in rock and hard place because I need the income from work while I can put my financial independence strategy in action.

I definitely know that others on the forum have gone through/are going through this type of dilemma and would like to hear some thoughts.

Golden Handcuffs