rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

How to reply to: "What do you do?"

I could have sworn there was a thread dedicated to this, but I couldn't find it through search.

Ever have milestones in your game where you feel like you've cracked the code a little bit more? I had that last night with the "What do you do?" question girls inevitably ask. I've tried numerous variations. I've delayed my response but eventually given in before, I've told them outright, I've lied and done the whole, "I'm an NBA player", "I'm a rocket scientist", "I'm a Lego engineer" "I'm an ass model".

I never got the responses that other guys have apparently, maybe it was in my delivery. But the response is never all that great. I might illicit a giggle with the preposterous answers. When I'm sincere and tell them what I really do, they're certainly receptive and we'll have a nice conversation about the topic, which doesn't build any attraction. Overall I've felt like this question presents a road block which, even in the best case scenario, still slows down the attraction process and I have to make some sort of diversion or recovery.

Several times in the past two weeks I've answered with:
"I don't feel like telling you what I do."
"I can't talk about what I do."
"I'm not at liberty to discuss that."
"Nah, there are better things to talk about."