rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Hike

First post.

I am a 22 year old student in the hard sciences taking a year off in South Korea. There is a local eight/nine who recently broke up with her Western boyfriend (say 2 weeks ago). I mostly ignore her but we keep in contact and chat or w/e roughly every two weeks. Anyway, she was pretty broken up over the bf** and invited me to go on a hike with her this Sunday. I happen to know there was another hike on Saturday that she was going on with people and that she invited me out on Sunday so that we could be alone and "talk."*

I have no idea how to play it because I have never closed with a new girl on a hike. (While I am an avid hiker back in the states, the few girls I take on hikes I was already in LTRs with).

I am pretty much an asshole and so I regularly get play, and a lot of interest from the locals (hence the nine inviting me on the hike) but in my first few months here I have only ever closed with expats of decidedly mixed quality. I want to break into the local market and this is my first clear chance to do so without getting trapped in a LTR.

The hike may or may not be close to my apartment (where we will actually hike depends on the weather conditions). The trail itself is public but there are rarely any people on it. Flaking is pretty uncommon in South Korea and that is not something I am worried about.

Anyway, my questions are as follows:
1. Does anyone have experience/stories about pick up while on a hike in general? Is it possible? Advice?
2. Most importantly, what are the logistics of a close while on a hike? There is a 50% chance we'll be close to my apartment, but it will be a slow walk in any case. We'll also be hiking early Sunday morning.