rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Building A Landscaping Business

Building A Landscaping Business

I have been doing landscaping for the last five years and wanted to share some advice and lessons I have learned. I am approaching 30 and have less and less desire to do the manual labor myself. This is partly because it takes energy away from my main hobbies when I get done working all day- lifting weights, playing basketball, and golfing in the summer. So I am netting less right now because I have employees doing most of the work. That being said, I think landscaping can be a good route for younger guys right out of high school or in their early twenties who want to work for themselves.

1.) Advertise in retirement communities. Over 55 communities usually have some type of monthly newsletter that goes out to all of the residents. This has worked for me. Handing out fliers door to door has not worked at all. Put in the advertisement senior discounts and free estimates. Use a "dog whistle" to imply to the older people that you are not an illegal alien by putting your anglo name "John Smith" in the advertisement. "Call John".

2.) Offer people a lower rate or discount if they allow you to dispose the yard debris in their yard debris container usually picked up by the city or county every week. This allows you to work without hauling a trailer all over town, which while more professional, can also be a huge drag in tight streets and also a major liability if you have employees driving. In regard to employees driving- most General Liability Insurance policies have an addendum option where you can pay more to have some of the liability covered of an employee driving their own truck while working for you. I paid extra for this, it was like $250 more.