rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Ask a criminal defense lawyer anything

Ever wonder what the legal process is like if you get charged with a crime? Step on in and maybe I can give you some information. I'm a criminal defense attorney with 15 years experience. My practice ranges from traffic tickets to major felonies, and I've conducted about 20 jury trials. Criminal law is my life's work, and I don't take any other types of cases. I run my own firm. No partners, no associates, just me and my girl Friday, a cell phone, and a whole lot of guile. (Yes I do have an office and all that, but I am so frequently out that I usually just turn my car or whatever courtroom I happen to be in into a mini mobile office.)

I'd like to keep this as an active, ongoing thread with updates and general guidance on different areas of criminal law, and maybe the occasional war story. Feel free to ask any questions. Understand, of course, that I am not offering legal advice for your particular situation. For that you should consult an attorney in your jurisdiction. I am a lawyer, but I'm not your lawyer until you hire me. Also, the scope of this thread will be limited to criminal legal issues in the United States. We have a very international membership here, but I cannot tell you anything about the legal system or laws outside the US. And don't ask about divorce, bankruptcy, child support, if your dog bit the neighbor, business law, anything like that. My answer will be: I don't know, talk to a lawyer who does. But if you've been arrested, or are just curious about how it all works, come on in and pick my brain.

Let’s say I’m at home and someone breaks into my home. He is armed and dangerous. I fear for my life.

Does my legal outcome differ whether I kill this home intruder with a gun, or a baseball bat?