rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Anyone taken a financial step back to set up a new career?

I have a civil engineering degree but I've been working in tech. sales for quite some time. I've basically topped out and would like to get back into actual engineering, but since I haven't been using my degree (no design work, not using engineering software, etc.) I don't see how I could qualify for anything other than an entry level position (lower salary for sure). Has anyone made a transition like this before? What are the odds I'll be able to actually pull this off?

PS I passed the E.I.T. exam but I can't take the PE exam since I haven't been working under any PEs (not that I think I'd be able to pass it at this time).

Civilize the mind but make savage the body.

Yes, but not in the same way you are describing.

When I started my first business and it came to a point where I needed to quit my day job to focus on my own. It was a huge pay cut for at least a year or so.

After a failed business in 2013 I had to go back to my old trade to stay afloat. The money was good but the whole time I was focusing on my next step. So when it came time to jump back into business for myself in 2016 it was, again, a massive pay cut. I took another slash in earnings last June when I took on partners and we bought out our pub-co VCers. Still struggling but I know from previous experience it does not last forever.

Quote: (01-14-2018 12:40 AM)Laner Wrote:  

Yes, but not in the same way you are describing.

When I started my first business and it came to a point where I needed to quit my day job to focus on my own. It was a huge pay cut for at least a year or so.