rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

The Office Vagabond

The Office Vagabond

I've read all the blogs written by men who have developed streams of passive income over the internet, and now spend all their time traveling. That's awesome.

Unfortunately, it's not reality for me. As a lawyer, I'm tied to certain states, courtroom appearances, and my office. I can't spend 6 - 10 months abroad, and my income isn't passive.

But... there is some stuff I've figured out to making a 9-5 work with a vagabond lifestyle.

What I like to do is just jet out of the city on a Thursday or Friday after the workweek has concluded and just head out into the middle of nowhere. Even if its just for the weekend, or a three day weekend. Just sort of drive around and find stuff.

These are my musings...

1. Buy a truck. I live in a major east coast city, and everyone tells me "Hank, a truck is impractical, blah blah blah. You should get a Honda Prius or something that lets people know you're a lawyer!"

Nope. I drive a truck. It's incredibly practical and cheap. Pickup truck, SUV, something that can both store your stuff and transport it. My truck has off-road tires and a snorkel. I store all my camping, fishing, and hiking gear in it.

I have never, ever once thought "Boy, I wish I had a Prius!" Never ever once.

2. Equip your truck for your lifestyle. This is what you will need:

a. A big ass backpack or duffle bag to hold your camping stuff. It will include: a mallet, a few head lamps, a flashlight, wine opener, heavy gardening gloves, long stick matches, a hand axe, charcoal fluid, a tin cup, instant coffee, rope, camping plates / utensils, batteries (AA and AAA), a battery or solar lantern, bug spray, and duraflame.