rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Nicaragua 2017 Trip Report

Hey folks,

I know there's some content already on Nicaragua but most of it is a few years old. Figured I'd try and add some value after an awesome 3 week long trip down there. I'll touch on general need-to-knows, three of the main cities (Managua, Leon, San Juan Del Sur), tourist+local game, etc.

About me/background: 25, white, athletic, 6'2/210. I do well in Canada/USA, etc. Although I'm relatively new to the "game" world. Pretty sure most of my past lays were in spite of myself. Onward and upward.

General

Cost of Living

Still exceptionally low, it's almost comical. Nicaragua is now THE poorest country in the western hemisphere. Yes, it was surpassed by Haiti. I got to know a couple intelligent locals and they dismally explain the level of high-government corruption that completely marginalizes 80% of the population.

Local currency is the cordoba. 30 cordobas = 1 USD. I found it easier to use cordobas than USD, but both work perfectly. With USD you run the risk of vendors selling you stuff at tourist prices.

Taxi from the airport in Managua to anywhere in the city: $20 (this is a tourist trap; it can be avoided by leaving the airport on foot and hailing a street taxi.

Street taxis: <4$ to go anywhere. Super cheap, had no issues at all. As long as you can say "cuanto cuesta por holiday inn express" and understand the number reply, you're good. They won't speak English. In Nica, taxis do not give you a private ride. They'll pick people up on the way, drop them off first if it's closer, etc.

American style hotel room: $100 - these are priced for tourists obviously.

Fast food: 5$

Local food: 4$ or less, with hidden gems for 2-3$ for full, delicious meals.