rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Moving to NY for 1+ months to job-hunt and game?

I am a fresh grad with an MS in STEM but have found the job hunt for data science/quant jobs to be a total pain. I've applied for jobs for a year and gotten just 2 offers. I accepted one of them in the Bay Area but resigned (the other one came just after I accepted that 1st offer, and I didn't want to quit right after starting). I also was quite unhappy with the horrible ratios here

I've applied to many positions in NY but gotten no in-person interviews yet. A few companies would only hire local candidates. I at least got on-site interviews for companies in other cities like Chicago, LA, SF, Austin, etc.

But the reason I want to be in NY is because from browsing this forum it sounds like hands-down the best place to game in the US. I figure if I spend 1-2 months in NY and still can't get a job, at least my game skills should dramatically improve due to the abundance of targets and because I'm a beginner to game. I also really like that there's many foreign girls in NY as I prefer European and Asian girls. However, I don't know a single person in NY

I heard that if I use Airbnb and look for rent in Brooklyn or Manhattan the rent shouldn't be too bad and I'll live close enough to approach many girls

What do you guys think? Is this a good idea or a horrible one?

I think you should wait to land a job first, before moving there. NYC is the most expensive place on earth and living there without any income will leave you broke. This type of thing would work in Texas, Minneapolis, etc where rent is cheap, but not NYC. Keep applying and I'm sure you'll get a hit eventually. Maybe put something on your resume about relocating to NYC soon on your own dime to be closer to family.