rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

The No-Nonsense Guide to Cheaply Improving Your Pistol Skill

Background
This is for those of you that are loosely familiar with handgun shooting. This is not meant to be a guide to total newbies, this is for someone who finds themselves going to the range with some frequency, and finds themselves burning through a lot of expensive ammunition without improving. A 50 round box of common 9mm range ammunition can be had for $10-20, depending on location, which can become expensive if you are not using your practice effectively. Depending on your habits, this 50 round box can last 30 seconds to 30 minutes.

A lot of people at the range tend to grab one target and burn through all 50 rounds, not really controlling their shot, having "fun", then going home, thinking that they have accomplished something and can protect themselves. This guide is to keep you from being that person.

Keep in mind that shooting well, like any other challenging hobby, can be both mentally and physically exhausting. Concentration on hand-eye coordination quickly becomes fatiguing. Breaks are recommended. I generally don't like shooting over 150-200 rounds per trip to the range, because I get too worn out. This can be improved, but only if you're willing to spend the coin on significant amounts of ammunition.

I have been shooting handguns and rifles regularly for 4 years. I have had some competitive shooting experience, and am sharing what I have learned. I have made plenty of mistakes, but have never caused any injuries due to ALWAYS following safety rules.

General Safety Rules
  • ALWAYS keep the gun pointed in a safe direction.THE MOST IMPORTANT RULE. A GUN WILL NOT HURT YOU OR SOMEONE ELSE IF IT IS MECHANICALLY SOUND AND YOU NEVER POINT IT AT A LIVING THING.