rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

When to take a week off

When to take a week off

I have been lifting for almost 9 years. At first I was skinny fat and I was afraid of eating, considering that my whole adolescence I was fat I was always scared of balooning again so I just wanted to be "toned". Now I am mostly focused in strength and my stats are not bad.

Height: 5'6
Weight: 161 pounds, 13% BF

1RM:
Bench Press: 265
Deadlift: 355
Squat: 330

I workout 4x a week and sometimes every now and then I do some cardio. I love working out and if I do not go the gym my day is not the same, I feel stressed and with less drive and motivation.

This year has been hectic at work (finance) and I am working 12-14 hours daily from monday to friday and some hours on the weekend, I workout at 6am but sometimes I just want to stay in bed and rest a little bit more. My diet is on point, almost 4k calories from good foods. My supplementation too: multivitamin, fish oil, vit C, ZMA, glutamine and protein powder (whey and a blend)

I plan to take some days off from work, 3-4 days to focus on studying (plan to take the GMAT in less than a month and I have not studied that much due to work) and I am considering skipping the gym for a week entirely and just focus on studying.

The problem is that I have this psychological issue that if I miss a workout I am going to lose my muscle/strength, gain fat and everything. I feel the same sometimes when I eat something processed or fried, the only time when I do not feel bad is when I drink with a girl: love steak, wine and scotch.

What is your opinion about taking a week entirely from the gym? Are my concerns common?

When to take a week off