rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

The financial ruin of a beta as told by him

Quote:Quote:

Leslie and I were college sweethearts. We met at Indiana University in 2004. I was working as a costume designer for the school play, and she was one of the actresses.

We had a slow courtship -- a friendship that turned into a romantic relationship

In 2005, I graduated and moved to New York City to attend a theater program at Juilliard, and Leslie and I continued dating long-distance while she finished up her senior year. The separation was hard on her, but I was able to fly back to Indiana to see her every couple of months.

During one of my visits, Leslie asked me to go car shopping with her. It was her first time buying a vehicle, and she wanted my input. There was just one problem: When the salesperson at the dealership processed Leslie's application, he saw that she had a low credit score and told her she'd need a cosigner to qualify for the loan.

Leslie was surprised because she didn't have a lot of debt, but it turned out that there were a couple of nicks on her credit report due to medical expenses. Not wanting to let the sale get away so easily, the salesperson looked at me and asked if I could cosign. I thought, "Why not?"

The next year, I moved to Connecticut to study production design at Yale. Leslie had just graduated and relocated to be with me. We moved into an $800, one-bedroom apartment and started splitting our household expenses.

Leslie found a job in a jewelry store, making about $30,000 a year. I was an unemployed graduate student, but I received a monthly stipend -- less than $2,000 -- from school. Money was tight, but I wasn't worried. I used my credit cards to float us when we needed them.