rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Getting short term work visa for US- ideas

I am an Irish Citizen working in Canada on an IEC visa (International Experience Canada).

I have been offered a pretty cool job in New Orleans starting March of next year. Ill be managing one of the bars/restaurants in the uptown area. It coincides nicely with the spring break up season of drilling (annual stoppage of work from around mid-March to mid-summer).

Problem is I have no idea what visa I can swing to get down there.

I have used a J1 to work in the States before but that's when I was an Irish university student.

I tempted to just get a visitors visa and just work for cash.

Anyone know of some way of getting a visa that would be suitable?

Also cant wait to party in New Orleans!!![Image: banana.gif]

I'm taking a trip to my birth city, NO next year, so I'll hit you up and stop by your bar if you work out the visa angle.

Good city to party in. Fun fly chicks, bomb food and laid back vibe.

Sounds good man!

[Image: attachment.jpg15726]   

Sorry, had to. [Image: angel.gif]

With immigration issues I'd recommend a lawyer. The U.S. got real hokie post 9/11. It's a pay system here with the legal system. The legal eagles here may be able to point you into the right direction, or recommend a firm.

edit-actually, a lot of Irish pubs here hire Irish staff for the ambiance, and handle the visas. Like Ri Rah's.

If you're an Irish citizen, do you even need a visa to enter as a tourist?

Just go in as a tourist, and have a backstory ready, like have a return ticket in a week's time (that you'll cancel or you got cheaply and can just waste), hotel reservation, etc.