rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

The Fermented Foods Thread: Better Than Juicing?

[Image: kraut550.jpg]

[Image: Kimchi.jpg]

I just started fermenting foods - as I'm a novice, I know barely more than you do. What I've read here is a distillation of what I've read elsewhere. Fermentation preserves foods and begets healthy bacterial cultures, like how yogurt is supposed to. It can also mitigate the harm of toxins like oxalates.

Required equipment:

1. Fido Jar.
2. Produce you want to ferment.
3. Salt, and not table salt.

The standard guideline is 3 tablespoons per 5 pounds of cabbage, and presumably other vegetables. For classic sauerkraut, you can add a tablespoon of caraway seeds per 2 pounds of cabbage.

To make sauerkraut, you rinse the cabbage, take off the top leaf or two, slice away the hard center stalk, and then finely slice up the cabbage. Put the cabbage in a bowl, put in the salt and caraway seeds, and start kneading that cabbage. It's actually pretty therapeutic - it may be the most relaxing thing you do all day.

The salt helps the cabbage release a lot of water, to the point where the cabbage is soggy and mushy in your hands, where it was dry just moments ago. When it gets to that point, stuff it in your jar and compact it with your fist or a muddler/wooden spoon, so that the water released rises above the cabbage. If there isn't enough water, knead it more, or if you've already done that, add some salt water (a cup of water and a teaspoon of water - I never had to add brine). Close it and let it sit for 2-4 weeks.

Wash your hands beforehand. Definitely use gloves if you're handling spicy foods, as your skin will burn for hours if you start kneading that cabbage with chilis floating around.