rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Getting an Engineering Job in Switzerland

Hello, I wondering how hard is it to move to Switzerland and find a job in the engineering field? Civil Engineering to be precise, I'm a railway engineer and I would maybe like to have some courses in the field at Lausanne Polytechnique.

I love the apres-ski there, lots of good partying in the Swiss way of life. Zermatt is pretty good in that regard with lot of classy girls.

I speak french, english and I'm learning german. I like the fact that the country is pretty centralized in Europe and that you can travel easily from there.

If it's anything similar to how it is in the European Union around them, you can only sign a contract for the job after it has been offered from 15 days to 1 month to the public, that is, to every engineer in Switzerland. Otherwise if you are skilled and have the language qualifications, it can be easier. Mind the language, tho, since they speak mostly German but not the way you expect them to.

If you're an engineer, getting a job/visa in Europe is the last thing to worry about. Most countries (e.g. Germany, UK) put you in a special category of skilled workers to expedite the process and ensure you receive a visa.

Not too sure about Switzerland specifically but I'd imagine it's the same. With the info you posted you'll have no problems, just start speaking to companies directly.

Switzerland is (in my opinion) the most beautiful country on earth. It's expensive, but no worse than London; you actually get what you pay for, everything is very high quality and the food is fantastic.

Quote: (09-28-2013 08:16 PM)MrRoundtree Wrote:  

I love the apres-ski there, lots of good partying in the Swiss way of life. Zermatt is pretty good in that regard with lot of classy girls.

What is party in the Swiss way of life?