rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Do you guys take breaks from lifting?

I've been weight training for a few years, with greater intensity over the past year or so.

The past year, I might have had a couple full weeks off from training. Besides that, a few times I did go 5-7 days without training.

But for the most part, the whole year I trained consistently at least twice, but mostly in between 3-4 times a week.

I'm currently on vacation for 4 weeks. I planned over the past few months so that if I did take a break from lifting it would be now.

This is the first time since I started training consistently that I will be taking more than 2 weeks away from the gym.

Do you guys take breaks?

I've been browsing and there seems to be many who encourage routine breaks from lifting for at least 1-2 weeks every few months or so from heavy lifting.

Hopefully one month won't have much of an affect on me due to my recent training history, and I can recover my gains in the shortest amount of time.

I'm itching to do some barbell squats and overhead presses.

At the same time, I'm interested in seeing how a month break will benefit me and how my body will react once I start training again.

I take weeks off from weights when I feel my body needs it.

The only time I've been off for more than a week is because of illness.

Even if I have a week off I still do body weight stuff or keep it light and go to the gym to practice my technique on some lifts.

The way I figure is if you've got a decent level of testosterone you're going to want to exercise anyway. I've never understood guys who 'took a few months off.' They were never serious about the gym in the first place.

I was doing pretty good until a damn shin splint in my legs.

The pain in my leg made doing anything absolutely annoying.