rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Que difícil es hablar el español...

I was reading through another member's data sheet on Dom Rep and saw that recently lots of members who are learning Spanish began asking about the regionally appropriate translations of certain words which could be useful in chatting up chicks.

I have a bachelors degree in Spanish and have lived in and travelled throughout South America for more than fifteen years. I cannot begin to describe the dynamic problems that someone (anyone) faces when trying to speak in multiple regional dialects. This is a cultural thing. There are words that mean many, many different things depending simply on the region in which the word(s) is(are) spoken, not to mention the context in which it is used. At first glance, a native English speaker is likely to say, "Damn. Spanish is all fucked up" and some of it is, but the fact of the matter is we do the exact same thing in English.

Take, for example, a simple question in English which, depending on several contextual situations could be interpreted several ways: "Hey, Man, do you wanna roll?" How can this be interpreted?
A preparation for a change of venue: We're about to roll out of here.
Doing drugs at a rave: Do you want to do some X?
At the fight gym: You've just been challenged to a jiu-jitsu match.
Lunch or dinner time: Would you like some bread?