rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Did I just get scammed at a tea house in Shanghai?

I have just returned to my hotel a few hours after an interesting afternoon which I am pretty sure involved me getting ripped off. I have only been in Shanghai 2 days and this is my first time in China. I am 90% sure I was just scammed but some doubt remains. The damage to my wallet was not too bad as far as scams go so I am not about to let this ruin my day.

It is a cold and rainy day in Shanghai. I failed to get laid the night before and am walking around People's Square. In a deserted part of the Square a group of 3 girls asks me in their Chinglish if I can take a picture of them. After snapping the photos they ask me where I am from. "America" I say and they inform me that they live in Beijing and are on their winter holiday at university. The small talk beings and they are surprisingly chatty. From what I heard of Chinese girls I expected almost all of them to be closed off and shy. 2 of the girls are terrible but the tallest one is not bad, maybe a 6.5 or 7. They ask what I am doing and I tell them I was on my way to get something to eat. They say its too early to eat dinner and invite me to a tea ceremony nearby. This is actually something I wanted to do in Shanghai as I love tea and drink about 6 cups of green tea a day. I had no plans so I agree to follow them along. The tall cute one is walking next to me, offering to share her umbrella.