rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Anyone A Web Designer Here? Need Career Advice Plz . .

I 'm a New Yorker and I want to go into web design. I've always been pretty creative, used to draw, paint and even did some decent websites a few years ago. Now, I want to switch career paths (public school teacher) and go all the way into it.

Here is my goal in a year or two: score an internship, paid or unpaid, doesn't matter, to get my foot into the door.

What's the best way I should do this?

I figure I have two routes (let me know if there's more, I'm sure there are, I'm a newb):

1) Go get an Associates in a school like this: The Arts Institute of New York for Web Design & Interactive Media

Pros:
- Reputable program that will land a good internship, possibly even before completion of program (this is what happened to my g/f)
- You study all aspects of media design including animation, photoshop, illustrator and video production.
- Study Javascript, Flash and Actionscript.
- Rigorous portfolio program

Cons:
- Long: around 3 years to complete: 100 credits
- Doesn't cover much about PHP and other Web Development (server side) stuff.
- Expensive: $58,000 (scholarships are available: too bad I'm white and don't have a vagina, though).

2) Get a certificate from Noble Desktop in NYC in Web Development. All these classes will take only 1 year to compete.

Pros:
- Short: 1 year
- Much Cheaper: $6,500 (although no Gov't Student Loans: hopefully they have a payment plan)
- Covers web Design AND Development: PHP, JavaScript/JQuery
- Covers Wordpress, Flash and Actionsctipt and more.

Cons:
- No gov't loans.
- Compressed: Some classes have a maximum of 6 sessions and others have a maximum of only two.
- Might not look as good on the resume as the Associates from the school above and hence: