rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Joining the US arm forces with a Bachelor Degree? Good Idea??

Hey All....

With the economic condition of our country, its been very tough for me finding a good paying job. I use to make pretty good money for a single male living in the Los Angeles. $75K plus prior to 2008 down turn. Trying to start a business and getting a loan from the bank is pretty tough now, i have good credit but high credit card balances.

I was thinking about joining the Military. Perhaps the Air Force. Im too old for the marines. I have a bachelor degree in Finance.

Anyone in here join the military with a bachleor degree?? I am 31 years old. I know you start off an officer, 2nd Lt. How is the pay? how fast can you get promoted? what did you do as your work? besides the factor of serving my country, is it worth it as a career move?

I've thought about this as an out, and when I brought it up I got the same answer from many different people, dont join the armed forces if your heart isn't in it.

With a degree in finances have you looked into government work? Lurk http://www.USAJobs.gov You might not find a job thats directly in your field, but the background might help you get some over paid shitkicker automation job.

Chef In Jeans
A culinary website for men

I enlisted in the army with a bachelors. originally, i planned to go to officer candidate school, but found out about "needs of the army." what that means is you state your preferences (for a branch, for a duty station, etc) and maybe they take that into account, but at the end of the day you go where the army wants you to go.