rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

waiting tables

waiting tables

has anyone here ever been a waiter? i'm new to it, and pretty bad at making high tips. while all my co-workers earn clear over $50 a night, i'm lucky to just make $50. i realize this is a learning experience, but i'd like to close the gap between sucking and being fairly good relatively quickly. anyone have tips (pun kind of intended)?

waiting tables

I worked in catering for a couple months as a server and bartender. In my experience, the key to getting good tips is to just be very outgoing and give the people whatever they want.

waiting tables

Quote: (11-16-2011 11:55 PM)theoogabear Wrote:  

has anyone here ever been a waiter? i'm new to it, and pretty bad at making high tips. while all my co-workers earn clear over $50 a night, i'm lucky to just make $50. i realize this is a learning experience, but i'd like to close the gap between sucking and being fairly good relatively quickly. anyone have tips (pun kind of intended)?

Been in the waiter'ing business since I was 16.

I think its more important to NOT suck than to be GOOD.

What I mean by that is most people are "set" tippers. Which means either they are bad tippers, average tippers, and good tippers. So as long as you dont SUCK they will tip you what they generally tip people.

Like with me Im a good tipper. Im pretty much gonna tip 30-50% everytime I eat out just so long as the waiter isnt terrible.

My mom is an average tipper. No matter what she is gonna tip around 15%.

So your probably wondering how not to suck right?

1) Prompt Service! Dont make people wait for ANYTHING.

2) Make sure you take down the order correctly and make sure it comes out the way the customers want it.

You do these two things and you will be alright imo.