rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Masculinity in Opera

Masculinity in Opera

Being at an intermediate station between antiquity and modernity I ve always been intrigued as to how the often underestimated genre of opera has always brimmed of masculine values and heroes.
I am not an expert in these genre but what I ve seen of it has not passed me by in vain.

Out of the tip of my head I can think of the magnificent Don Giovanni,concocted by the master himself: Mozart.
A tragic epopey of a villain/hero who in the most romantic of spirits,prefers eternal damnation to repenting from his "sins".

Full Play youtube link

A great version of "the commendatore" scene

From Verdi of course stands Rigoletto,a play in which a character that many would deem a villain as well,extends the truest most cynical expositon of the female character

The duke of Mantua's aria by Pavarotti

1. La donna è mobile
Qual piuma al vento,
muta d'accento
e di pensiero.

Sempre un amabile,
leggiadro viso,
in pianto o in riso,
è menzognero.

Refrain
La donna è mobil'.
Qual piuma al vento,
muta d'accento
e di pensier'!

2. È sempre misero
chi a lei s'affida,
chi le confida
mal cauto il cuore!

Pur mai non sentesi
felice appieno
chi su quel seno
non liba amore!

Refrain
La donna è mobil'
Qual piuma al vento,
muta d'accento
e di pensier'![2]

Woman is flighty.
Like a feather in the wind,
she changes in voice
and in thought.

Always a lovely,
pretty face,
in tears or in laughter,
it's untrue.

Refrain
Woman is flighty.
like a feather in the wind,
she changes in voice
and in thought!

Always miserable
is he who trusts her,
he who confides in her
his unwary heart!

Yet one never feels
fully happy
who from that bosom
does not drink love!

Refrain
Woman is flighty.
Like a feather in the wind,
she changes her words,
and her thoughts![3]

Plume in the summerwind