rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Web start up reading list?

Hello,

This is my first post. I want to thank you all for the information that has been posted on this site.

I'm a traveling EFL teacher with a tiny bit of passive income from real estate. I'm interested in researching an internet business. I have no background in web development or web marketing.

Could you recommend a reading list? I'm interested in the basics, such as terminology, marketing, strategy.

I've already found on here "4-Hour Workweek" and "Crush It!" I'm acquiring those now.

My first idea is an ESL site with web 2.0 teacher training advice, material, blog, etc. It would be ran by myself and a web 2.0 teacher trainer. My goal is just to supplement my income while abroad. An extra couple hundred bucks a month goes a long way for me in Eastern Europe. Low investment, Low returns is fine by me for now. I know its not inspiring, but I'm just starting out.

Thanks in advance[Image: smile.gif]

~Fair

4-hour workweek is great for inspiration but low on practical/tactical strategies for executing a web based business. Definitely worth a read though.

"Crush It" is good for learning more about the various social media platforms out there and how to use them as a means of building internet brand equity.

Both of those books are not great if you are looking for highly targeted/focused and strategic advice on the actual operations of launching a business.

The ESL market is solid - assuming you know the specific solution/services the market is asking for and can reach your demographic. In my market research for my own line of career products, I keep coming across tons of keywords related to the ESL niche.

Thanks for the reply,

I chose these because they were mentioned on this forum a few times.