rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Considering switching to another blue-collar firm - opinions welcomed

As some of you may have gathered from posts in this section of the forum (as well as the occasional insight into bachelor pad mechanics) I currently work in the construction sector. Specifically, for a design and display firm based in South London. I was taken on earlier this year after having been formally unemployed for around a year, though doing the occasional cash job.
Despite having not worked for them for a protracted period of time, I've been feeling the rumblings of discontent. As a result, I've done my best to list the specific pro's and con's and would like input from other people with experience in this field to offer insight as to whether or not my concerns are justified since it's difficult to objectively judge my own situation.

Pro's
- Training. I've been in construction for ~3 years and prior to joining my current firm I was little more than a glorified labourer despite having accrued a decent amount of knowledge in various fields such as roofing, damp-proofing and general building repair. I still possess no individual qualifications however I'm now certified and approved by 2 regulatory bodies as an employee of my current firm.
Most recently, I was given a course for retro-fitting, outfitted with a set of tools, given a hire van and sent out on the road.
Succinctly put, I've gone up from labourer to contractor with this firm. There's still an abundance to learn but I've picked up a lot these last few months.