rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Firefighting as a Career

Firefighting as a Career

Are there any RVFers who are firefighters or considering going into fire?

I'm currently in an office job, but I've thought seriously about fire fighting as a career. I've been volunteering for a few months too and enjoy it.

What do you guys think about fire fighting as a full-time career?

Firefighting as a Career

Great career, great benefits for the most part, exciting lifestyle, great hours (24 on, 72 off), ample time to work out and work on side hustles.

It is an great opportunity for a middle class guy. It is not location independent. It will not make you rich (retirement can be nice though). You will simply live a comfortable lifestyle, surrounded by rep pill type personalities (much more so than in office job at least), and have some cool stories to tell.

You day may involve long hours of intense boredom (aka, side project time), but it will also involve moments of intense excitement.

I am not a firefighter. I work in a similar field. I also know many firefighters.

I say go for it.

God'll prolly have me on some real strict shit
No sleeping all day, no getting my dick licked

The Original Emotional Alpha

Firefighting as a Career

Thanks, man. Good post.

Quote:Quote:

It is not location independent.

That's probably the worst aspect of the job. Getting into any individual fire dept is a challenge, so odds are that you're going
to have to move to whatever dept will hire you. Which is inconvenient for sure. I'd like to get hired locally, but the hiring rate
for my local dept is very low.

It will not make you rich (retirement can be nice though)

Getting rich is pretty hard though. I know lots of guys who work insanely hard at the office or building their own business, while