rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Canadians: What do you think of Stephen Harper?

I find as a Canadian, I tend to follow American politics more than those of my own country.

For this year's election, I am of voting age and I'm not entirely sure what to think I'm curious as to what some RVF members think.

I personally haven't seen anything wrong with Harper. To be fair, I am an engineering student and the oil sands could be my future, so Harper would be the obvious choice. The only people I've seen complain about him are left wing nutjobs.

Trudeau seems like our version of Obama, but his father was apparently a great PM (before my time) so who knows. The NDP's seem way too left wing for me, promising lots of gold at the expense of the taxpayers.

I believe in lower taxes, fewer services. I hate the idea of supplying money to services I will never need. On that principle, which candidate would align most with my thinking?

As another Canadian, your only choice is Conservative or fringe parties.

Trudeau Jr, IMO, is being very carefully managed by the senior liberal party who want their turn on the gravy train again. His father was a good PM in some ways (getting the government out of the population's bedroom) but a terrible, terrible fiscal leader. Trudeau is saying whatever the hell will get him elected and putting a bit of his own spin on things. Really, this guy needed another 10 years in parliament to really get his feet wet in politics and learn the system. Instead we have a neophyte with no power, no influence in his own party, and beholden to hidden masters within his own ranks.

The NDP have a centrist leader, who I think the party will chuck ASAP if they get in power and replace Mulcair with a properly crazy nutjob that will fulfill the feminist agenda.