rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

The most nutritious cooking method

This is a question I'm asked frequently. "What's the healthiest way to cook such-and-such?"

There is no one method, it's not that simple. In MOST cases, eating raw vegetables and fruit will give you the greatest nutritional payload, but even that statement has many exceptions, and I'm by no means a proponent of the raw foods diet. There's an excellent article here: http://www.eufic.org/article/en/artid/Nu...lity-food/

However, if you are going to cook your food (and you should) there is a basic criteria to follow concerning bioavailability: The food should cook in as little liquid as possible, and as quickly as possible. Many nutrients are water soluble, which you lose during blanching (boiling). Many nutrients are destroyed under prolonged, high-heat cooking, like braising or crockpot cooking.

What cooks food in very little liquid, and cooks it quickly? The microwave.

Microwaves work by emitting radio waves at a set frequency that agitate water molecules in food. They do this very efficiently and quickly, so the food literally steams in its own water content. This produces pretty gross results with meat (steamed meat?) but is a fantastic method of cooking vegetables. There's these hippy-dippy myths that microwaves somehow irradiate food or destroy nutrients, which is 100% false. There is growing support for cooking vegetables in microwaves, and guess which piece of equipment gets a heavy workout in Michelin 3-star kitchens? The microwave oven.