rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Thinking about buying a motorcycle...

Hey, I was thinking about picking up a motorcycle for commuting to work and some small trips. Does anyone know anything about bikes here? I'm a complete rookie to the whole thing, but I have a lot of experience with high end ATV's and snowmobiles. I don't like the look of touring bikes so I'm probably gonna go with a sport bike... Maybe a 250 Ninja as a starter bike, then upgrade to a 600 when I get comfortable riding that?

Just go with a 600, you will want to upgrade after a week anyways

I started on a Ninja 500. Unless you're impulsive and unable to control your shit, an older 600 should be fine. Suzuki sv650 is a good choice.
The one benefit of a 500 is that you get a lot of respect when you smoke the guys on their 600s.

The easiest way to get your license is to take the MSF safety course. You can knock it out in a weekend:
http://online2.msf-usa.org/msf/Default.aspx

Here's a good book you should also read:
http://amzn.to/elZPzQ

As long as you have health insurance and assume everyone on the road is trying to hit you, you should be okay. Seriously, stupid drivers don't pay attention to bikers and will KILL YOU if you don't watch out. That said, I sold my bike because I got into too many close calls. It was hard to contain my speed and I didn't have the motivation or money to get on a track.

There are few more things:

1. Do not drink alcohol at all if you're riding. Even one beer can make a difference when you're not experienced. Being a little slow in a car, you'll may total your car but leave unscratched. Being a little slow on a bike, you may total yourself.

2. Dress up so you survive the fall. This may be tough when the temperature hits 100F, but it may mean a minor scratches versus a week in hospital.