rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Merchant Mariner?

Merchant Mariner?

Hey guys, I just got out of high school a few months ago, and I've been working as an electricians helper for a few months. I've been planning to get certified as an OS ordinary seaman and apply for jobs with shipping companies. My sisters boyfriend has a lot of connections in the industry. His father teaches at a maritime college an his uncle is the dean. This job would be great because I would work for a few months at a time and I'll come back with 30k or so my first trip. As sea time increases so does the pay. 70-200k is possible. Does anyone see any reasons this wouldn't be a good idea. I know the shipping industry has declined but we can't possibly get rid of our whole fleet, and I woul have a jump start in an oil rig career because certified mariners are valuble to them. What do you guys think?

Merchant Mariner?

One of my good friends is in this industry and he makes real good money.

He works for a towing company and makes several hundred dollars a day on a 3 week on/ 3week off split. Not positive how much he makes for the year but i'd say over 70 and thats working half the year. It's definitely possible to have another job when you're back on land or you could travel.

Seems like it's similar to a trade job in the oil fields. High pay with a lot of time off if you want.

Merchant Mariner?

The maritime schools give you a good practical education for a lot of things.

Merchant Mariner?

I'm not sure if I'd want to go to school I'd rather just work up through the ranks. Pissing away money and time seems like a waste.

Merchant Mariner?