rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Getting a Second Bachelor's

I graduated in 2012 and have so far not used my degree for anything, it's not that it's worthless per se, but my interests have radically changed since I committed. Has anyone gone back to school for a second BA or BS?

Imho even a first degree is questionable unless its for something targeted. Too many people have degrees in leisure studies or general liberal arts degrees that are basically worthless. It boils down to many office jobs cant be had without at least having that piece of paper so it opens a door but thats about it.

I normally tell people dont pursue a masters on your own dime unless your company is paying for it. Most jobs you can get some experience and sell yourself into a job so unless your going back for teaching or something which absolutely requires a degree and license dont get yourself in more debt. For masters get a job with tuition reimbursement and let them pay for it dont do it on your own dime.

Can you give more specifics? My thought it your going to be wasting 4 more years of your life and lots of money to get a job making 35k that you could probably get with your current degree.

Quote: (07-28-2014 10:55 AM)clever alias Wrote:  

I graduated in 2012 and have so far not used my degree for anything, it's not that it's worthless per se, but my interests have radically changed since I committed. Has anyone gone back to school for a second BA or BS?

The big question is why and what do you hope to do? If you want to work in another filed, it is possible to do so without another degree. As an example, Goldman Sachs doesn't necessarily care if you have a finance degree or not. They've hired a French Literature major to work as an IB.