rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

How important is a decent car?

Background, I live about an hour outside a small, but decent city (as far as culture and women go). I commute an hour, and I basically spend a shitload of time in my car.

Currently I drive a pyle of crap old diesel VW. This car is not cool at all unless you happen to be into old vw's (read, old hippy dudes and some very hippie women, not really my type)

I can get away with driving such a pyle because I am a mechanic and have my own personal shop at home, and it saves me a lot of money (48mpg and very cheap to own)

HOWEVER....I feel like a mega chode driving this thing around. Its horrible. Ratty paint, mismatched wheels etc.

I am considering buying something a bit better, currently looking at a 2006 audi a4. I am very familiar with audis, and its a pretty sick car for the price ($6500)

I am on a pretty tight personal budget since I own a house and pay for everything myself....am I a fool for stepping up my car game? It would surely make me feel a bit less like a chode rolling in something nicer.

I don't really NEED a better car for any practical reasons other than I wouldn't mind feeling like less of a douche.

Besides the basics of being reliable and getting you from point A to point B safely (and affordably?) then everything else about a car is an accessory. You want to feel good about what you ride around in, and you want to get noticed? Getting new wheels would be a smart move. A4's of that body style look pretty sharp, but I gotta say, especially as someone who wrenches, I'm surprised you want to spring for an 8 year old Audi (presumably with high miles considering the low price).