rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

mid-sized South American cities on the Ocean

Hey guys -

So I've been hanging out in Medellin, Colombia for the past two months and will be probably moving on soon. I'm realizing that I really want to live close to the ocean, still in South America. I also prefer living in a mid-sized city, about 500,000-1 million people. These are a few cities that I know of that meet my general requirements, though I've never been to any of them:

Colombia
Santa Marta
Cartagena
Barranquilla (not sure if this is on the ocean)

Peru
Trujillo

Chile
Valparaiso/Vina del Mar

Uruguay
Montevideo

Anyone have any thoughts on any of these cities as places to live? Or have any other ideas for places that would fit my criteria - SA, on the ocean, mid-sized?

Thanks!

Knowing only the ones in Colombia, my vote is for Barranquilla. Cartagena is great for tourism, but I don't think I would want to live there. Santa Marta could be nice for living, it's definitely laid back.

But my vote goes to Barranquilla. The big beaches are maybe a half hour or so away from where you would be living, and if you are really into taking a swim every day then Santa Marta might be better. But Barranquilla has such a strong culture and party scene, and the women there are pretty hot and cheerful. And Carnaval is coming up, I mean seriously, you know a city has some fun loving people when they put on a party like that.

Santa Marta is a good choice. Great beaches, short distance from Barranquilla and Cartagena.