rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

text game... i don't get it

For a while now, I've generally been against texting as a reliable way of communicating with girls I haven't slept with. I've never had much luck with it, and I swore it off completely last spring while I was in Brazil for a semester (it was really tempting to communicate through texts while I was still learning Portuguese, but I never had a single success with any girl I texted instead of calling). Texts just seem so passive and ambiguous to me, and I feel like it promotes flaking - it's easier to justify not answering a text than not answering or returning a phone call.

Now recently, I've had some experiences that have led me to reconsider my views toward texting.

I met a girl at a bar recently who seemed like she really wanted to hang out and was dropping tons of IOIs, but refused to answer the phone when I called her a couple days later (I couldn't pursue anything on the same night because of logistical issues). However, she would text me incessantly almost every day. If I tried to call her she wouldn't answer, and then she'd text me back two minutes later. She would be very flirtatious in her texts but whenever I suggested hanging out, she would flake.

Eventually we did go on a date, and once I got to know her a bit better she struck me as rather silly and immature, so I put her aside and moved on. I think her texting obsession may have been due to the fact that she was fairly young and didn't seem to know how to have a proper phone conversation. Anyways, her loss.