rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Denim Data Sheet (Also ask me anything about denim)

Hey guys, I've been meaning to drop a few style data sheets because you all have helped me a lot and my strength is style. I used to work as a stylist at barneys, but even before then style has been my hobby. I was the denim expert at barneys so I know denim pretty well.

I read the few recent denim threads and first I want to straighten a few things out. Men originally started as work wear, real denim is probably one of the most masculine things a man can own. When it comes to quality, how long a pair of jeans lasts or its softness is no indication of quality. Old school denim was built for men to use everyday for jobs like mining, hunting, and ranching and they only used one pair.

Saying that your denim lasted 4 years doesnt really mean anything if you wore it on weekends to lunch in a rotation of five other pairs. Wearing denim while prospecting for gold everyday and having that pair last 15 years is quality. Men used to use on pair and wear it well. Less is more, although denim might seem expensive 1 pair of good jeans is a much better investment than 6 pairs of crap.
I personally own 3 pairs (my daily jeans that I beat up, my “dress” jeans for a blazer, and skinny black jeans for going out or when I DJ) Expect to pay around 200+ for a pair of good denim.

Raw denim-

First, raw denim is denim that has never been washed or treated. This way the denim is stuff and dark when you buy it and you'll break it in over time. It might take about 6 monthes to begin to break in but I'll be worth it. The fades will be based on you movement so it reflects you. Always have an iphone? You'll get an iPhone or wallet fade in your back pocket over time, or a saddle fade if you rode motorcycles and bikes.

Selvedge-