rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

I want to buy a kettlebel - advice ?

Hey guys -- Im getting into one of those extremely busy seasons of life, and I am going to have to start cutting down my time @ the gym. I was thinking about getting a kettlebell because, from what Ive heard, I can get a great workout with these at home.

What size should I start out with? - I am about novice - intermediate according to the Basic Strength Standards chart posted on this forum. I weigh about 155lbs. I have never worked out with kettlebells before.

Also - can anybody recommend any videos of workouts with kettlebells?

I was planning to order @ onnit.com, but again, Im open to suggestions.

Thanks.

Quote: (03-07-2014 06:25 PM)se7en Wrote:  

Hey guys -- Im getting into one of those extremely busy seasons of life, and I am going to have to start cutting down my time @ the gym. I was thinking about getting a kettlebell because, from what Ive heard, I can get a great workout with these at home.

What size should I start out with? - I am about novice - intermediate according to the Basic Strength Standards chart posted on this forum. I weigh about 155lbs. I have never worked out with kettlebells before.

Also - can anybody recommend any videos of workouts with kettlebells?

I was planning to order @ onnit.com, but again, Im open to suggestions.

Thanks.

depends what you want to do with it. For stuff like KB swings the typical recommendation I've seen for an adult male is the 45 or 53 pounder.

I would suggest buying your first one locally, that way you can easily return it if you realize its too easy or difficult to start with. Then you will get a better feel for what sizes you will need/want for different exercises.