rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

MMA gym advice

MMA gym advice

Tl;dr, changed mma gyms, at the new one I train less than everyone else and get beaten up in sparring, have no chance of catching people up, should I change gyms?
Ive been training MMA for about 8 months. I started February last year, and then stopped in September, as I wouldn’t have time during the rugby season. I restarted a few weeks ago at a new gym.
My old gym was ok, but it had too much of a mcdojo vibe. We would only spar once every couple of weeks, and when we did it was normally very sanitized (no headshots etc.). Also, there wasn’t a great feeling of unity/ community within the gym- people weren’t that friendly.
My new gym is really cool. Everyone there is really solid and there’s a real sense of brotherhood. We also do hard sparring every week- during the very first session of the very first round, I dropped my hands, got kicked in the face and broke my nose. However, I am worried that I am just going to get my ass kicked for the foreseeable. Due to weightlifting, schoolwork, reading and other commitments, I only have time to train once or twice a week. This is less than the other people there, who train at least three times every week. So, not only am I worse than everyone else now, I will continue to be worse and won’t be catching people up. I want to be a consultant when I’m older, and hope to go to a top university so there is no point getting beaten up gratuitously. Even more so, I am worried about developing an overly defensive style, just learning how to get out of the way and avoid getting beaten up, instead of actually improving my own striking (my takedowns and grappling is ok, but standing I will get beaten up pretty much every round).