rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Thailand... Anyone else find it a bit disturbing?

Well on my first trip there last month I had a bit of a culture shock. Obviously visiting any third world country takes some getting used to but the combination of ladyboys, to tons of old foreign guys hanging out and finally (which was the most disturbing) was some of these older foregin men walking around hand in hand with young Thai boys.

Im a newbie to traveling and this was my first experience in a third world country (besides Tijuana, Mexico). I felt a bit dirty and greatly disturbed, Anyone else get this vibe? Is this something that I will come across while visiting other countries?

Sounds like that's unique to Thailand. Colombia had a handful of older foreign men but enough that the scenery was disturbed.

Quote: (12-15-2010 01:45 AM)Roosh Wrote:  

Sounds like that's unique to Thailand. Colombia had a handful of older foreign men but enough that the scenery was disturbed.

Grant it my hotel was near Nana square, where all the action is...

Quote: (12-15-2010 01:40 AM)kali Wrote:  

Well on my first trip there last month I had a bit of a culture shock. Obviously visiting any third world country takes some getting used to but the combination of ladyboys, to tons of old foreign guys hanging out and finally (which was the most disturbing) was some of these older foregin men walking around hand in hand with young Thai boys.

Well, that's where gay people go for boys; what exactly did you find disturbing?

You have to know where to go. There are really shady parts of Thailand, but they tend to be very isolated. If you get outside of the tourist areas and the hardcore sex tourist areas, the country is pretty amazing and the people (and women) are incredibly friendly and cool.