rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

FInance grad looking to start biz... need advice

i graduated 8 years ago with a finance degree bba. done some jobs in finance for a while but nothing i consider worth sticking around in. i live in nyc. the job mkt here in finance is tough. i got some money in the bank but i dont trust investing it in the stock mkt now. i want to start a biz but i dont know where to start. any ideas would be appreciated.

pick something you like doing and try to figure out a way to get paid to do it

Too broad of a question.....Need to know what you like to do, what skills, etc etc etc...

You still working in finance? I am also a nyc finance slave....

My cousins sells Medicaid insurance, if I ever got laid off I was going to try to jump to his field....

Quote: (12-16-2012 05:22 PM)Brian Wrote:  

pick something you like doing and try to figure out a way to get paid to do it

thats the thing i dont know wat exactly to get into. i studied finance because my couzin studied it and is doing well in htat field. i dont have any passions for selling a product. i was thinking of

Quote: (12-16-2012 06:09 PM)TheCaptainPower Wrote:  

Too broad of a question.....Need to know what you like to do, what skills, etc etc etc...

You still working in finance? I am also a nyc finance slave....

My cousins sells Medicaid insurance, if I ever got laid off I was going to try to jump to his field....

in terms of wat i like to do i got no real passion for anything. i got computer skills in excel, word, powerpoint. i got a knack for building webpages. i do a solid job at it. i get compliments. but i dont want to be a webpage nerd though.

yeah i worked in finance. i did private equity and brokerage accnts. but not working now. the finance job mkt isnt good now. still looking for a job here in nyc.