rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Ideas on physique

Ideas on physique

So I've been working out for about 10 years. Sometimes I go off for 6 months to a year, but I've been pretty consistent with it. Allow me to share my thoughts and observations.

1. Contrary to what you read in muscle magazines, the majority of women prefer a lean muscular build. Broad shoulders and pecs are good to have, but becoming a beefcake is counterproductive. In my experience, women respond most favorably to definition. The best ROI get definition are shoulders, upper back, and arms.

2. Getting washboard abs are a total waste of time. The rigid diet and obsessive routines to get/keep this is not worth it. Furthermore, you make your body much more sensitive to storing fat (evolution).

3. It is far better to build muscle from a lean mass, than to become fat and convert that to muscle. This is harder to do, but over the long-run, the maintenance required to keep your form is much less.

4. When I have have gotten out of working out for a long period of time, I compensate by being especially rigid with my diet. I lose mass, but I still retain definition (see Point 3 above).

5. Work out your lower body too. Nothing is more awkward than chicken licks on a top-stacked guy.

6. If you want to work out less often and still retain the effects, you can do heavy weight-low rep workouts. If you go for 3 - 5 rep sets using heavy weights and you do it right, your body will take 6 days to recover. If you do lower weight/high rep sets, you have to go more often or the benefits wear off faster.

7. Form over mass. Too many dumb guys end up hurting themselves because they try to man up and lift too much. Ironically, no one is really watching them in the gym.