rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Making a switch from software engineering contractor to business owner

Do we have any members who have made this switch?

A little background: I'm a generalist software engineer who is able to program in pretty much anything and solve a wide range of problems. I have a decade of solid experience with all kinds of platforms and tools and a have worked in a few different domain fields. Currently I work remotely and charge per hour.

I can still grow my hourly rate a fair amount. Haven't reached my plateau there. However, I'm getting tired of building other people's dreams. Additionally, it's clear I'll never make as much money writing software as I'd owning software.

I'm thinking of building a SaaS product. I have no idea which market to focus on, though. The only field I'm truly knowledgeable about is software. I know the survival rate for SaaS products is low so to be successful I'd probably need to launch a few different ones.

I'm curious if we have any members who were ever in similar shoes. Would love get advice about this kind of switch.

No one is going to give you an actionable business idea. Getting advice about "making the switch" isn't going to help you produce an idea worth acting on.

There are two types of people in this world. Those who can imagine uncreated solutions to problems they see in the world every day and those who can't.

Here's the big problem with the "live your dreams" crowd at places like The Fastlane Forum. It's one thing to acknowledge that it's hard to create wealth quickly without creating scalable businesses. It's another thing entirely to come up with a good enough idea to act on.