rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Is learning how to program worth it?

As the title says is it worth the struggle to make more money?
Not as your primary job, but as second source of income.

If you were equally good at sales as you were at programming, I'd choose sales every time.

As a secondary source of income you're going to have to 1) pair your programming with some kind of marketing funnel, which you won't at all have time to build (if you're starting your own business) or 2) compete with Indians/Chinese on Upwork for $10-15/hr.

The best freelance programming money comes from face to face relationships with clients you've met in person. But then again, that's basically sales and marketing. Once you have those contracts, just outsource the work on Upwork/Freelancer.

I'm a software developer and I kind of wish I hadn't gone down this route. The income distribution is very bimodal. You're either making $50k or $250k+ (you have popular git repositories/libraries and maybe speak at conferences). It's like being a musician.

I'm actually trying to figure out how to move out of this right now and into the family business full time, which would basically involve 100% sales, affiliate marketing and e-commerce for a physical product.

Like TheCroatian said, think of programming as a way to solve a problem, like welding or carpentry.

That way when you're working in your new business you could easily whip up a computer program to do something easy instead of paying someone to do it for you.