rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

What's it like to work in consulting?

http://managementconsulted.com/consultin...t-banking/

Great pay (not as much as investment bankers), better worklife balance and lots of travel. Sounds sweet, maybe one day I can work at The Boston Consulting Group, hopefully transfer to their NYC office [Image: blush.gif] Anyone here have any experience or knowledge about consulting?

Quote: (09-04-2011 01:22 AM)P Dog Wrote:  

Anyone here have any experience or knowledge about consulting?

I used to be a programmer before I got into health care. I liked being a consultant way more than being an employee because their paternalistic idea that they own you is weaker. You're treated less like a child and more like an equal.

Of course, I've never had a job I've liked, so this is a personal thing.

if you can go to the same place every day, do the same thing, and be ordered around by the same people and have it feel sort of acceptable you're different than me.

Some knowledge from friends. I'll just knowledge dump.

It seems there are two tiers.

Tier 1 McK, BCG, Bain, Monitor
Tier 2 Accenture, Deloitte, boutique firms, etc...

Tier 1, work like a dog - burnout is really high although people dont complain about it as much as I-banking. People that do it really appreciate the fact that they get work with really smart people for a change. They live out of a suitcase to a certain extent. Don't have too much choice where they get sent: Saudi, London, Houston. It's pretty random. Pay is near tops. Connections and working at the larger firms is like having gold stamp on your resume. People usually leapfrog from there to top tier MBAs or hedge funds. They give you this "mini" MBA training so you can "technically" be from any background. They just look for "smart" people or people that bullshit well.

Tier 2.