rooshvforum.network is a fully functional forum: you can search, register, post new threads etc...
Old accounts are inaccessible: register a new one, or recover it when possible. x

Is Ubuntu a good operating system for privacy?

I have heard some complaining about it around the web (particularly the amazon add on thats difficult to remove). Particularly for what we do (browse and post on a "hate speech" forum) would you consider it safe?

P.S: I'm in the U.S

Growth Over Everything Else.

https://fixubuntu.com/

That helps you turn off some of the telemetry stuff that's associated with Unity.

I've never heard of Ubuntu doing anything like the shit Microsoft is trying to pull with Windows 10, where they're actually installing keyloggers and stuff. But I'm not an expert. I still use Windows 7 most of the time for my desktop environment work, and I use Ubuntu for my servers.

You probably have more to worry about from your ISP and similar entities than your OS if you're not on a VPN, though.

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable will chime in.

I have the Zorin OS (another linux one) on my laptop and love it. Small footprint, stable, yet similar to Windows

This whole VPN thin is driving me up the fucking WALL. I can't get this VPN installed on Ubuntu, the webpage gives vague fucking directions and I'm running into a fucking mountain to climb every 5 minutes. All this for some rational privacy. FML

Link?

Welcome to Linux in general. [Image: dodgy.gif] They always assume you know shit you probably don't if you're new to it.

I'll PM you some problems I'm encountering so I won't derail the thread.

It's better than any Microsoft or Apple OS, but Tails is more or less the gold standard for security.

Quote: (04-13-2017 07:17 AM)Thrill Jackson Wrote:  

I have heard some complaining about it around the web (particularly the amazon add on thats difficult to remove). Particularly for what we do (browse and post on a "hate speech" forum) would you consider it safe?